Google利用AI生物醫學視網膜眼底映像測心臟病

來源:互聯網
上載者:User


對於Google的研究人員來說,眼睛是一個人健康與否的標誌。目前,這個科技巨頭公司正在通過分析人類的視網膜照片,通過深度學習,對人的血壓、年齡以及吸煙情況進行預測。其初步結果顯示,機器可以通過這些資訊預測心臟病的發生,從而做出有效預防措施。

 

這項研究依賴於卷積神經網路,這是一種深度學習演算法,它改變了生物學家對映像的分析。科學家們正藉助於這種方法來尋找基因組中的突變,並預測單個細胞的布局變化。Google的方法在去年8月份發表的論文中已有所論述。可以說,這是新型深度學習應用的一部分,而這些應用使影像處理變得更容易,甚至可以識別出被忽視的生物現象。

 

“以前,把機器學習應用到生物學的一些領域是不可能的,”加州山景城Google研究項目主任Philip Nelson說。“現在不僅僅實現了,更讓人高興的是,還可以看到人類未發現的東西。”


卷積神經網路使電腦能夠高效且全面地處理映像,而且不需要將映像分解成多個部分。得益於電腦計算能力與儲存技術的進步,這一方法在2012年左右獲得了初步成功。舉個例子,Facebook利用這類深度學習技術來識別照片中的人臉。


但是科學家們仍努力將這些網路應用到生物學領域,部分原因在於各個領域之間的文化差異。Daphne Koller,Google母公司Alphabet旗下的生物科技公司Calico的首席計算官,表示:“讓一群聰明的生物學家和一群同樣聰明的電腦科學家在同一個房間裡活動,他們會用兩種不同的語言及思維方式進行交流。”

科學家還必須確定哪些類型的研究可以通過網路進行,而這些網路必須接受大量的映像訓練才能進行預測。當Google希望利用深入的學習來發現基因組中的突變時,科學家們不得不將DNA的字母序列轉換成電腦可以識別的映像。


然後,他們在DNA 片段上訓練神經網路,這些片段已與參考基因組對齊,並且其突變已知。最終的結果是DeepVariant(深度變異),這是12月發布的一個工具,可以發現DNA序列的小變化。至少在測試中,DeepVariant的表現和傳統工具一樣好。

 

來自西雅圖艾倫研究所的細胞生物學家們,正在使用卷積神經網路,將光學顯微鏡下捕獲到的細胞的平坦灰色映像轉換成3D映像,其中一些細胞的細胞器被標記為彩色。


這種方法消除了對細胞進行染色的需要——這個過程需要更多的時間以及更複雜的實驗裝置,而且還可能會損壞細胞。上個月,該小組公布了一項先進技術的細節,該技術可以使用一些資料(如細胞的輪廓等)預測更多細胞部分的形態和位置。

 

美國哈佛-麻省理工博德研究所(Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard)成像平台主任Anne Carpenter說:


“現在大家看到的是機器學習能夠完成與成像有關的生物學任務,這是前所未有的轉變。”


2015年,她的跨學科團隊開始使用卷積神經網路處理細胞映像; 現在, Carpenter表示,神經網路正在處理其研究中心約15%的映像資料。在她看來,未來幾年內,這種方法將成為其研究中心的主要資料處理模式。

 

有些人一想到用卷積神經網路分析映像可能會在無意中揭示一些微妙的生物現象,由此可能會引出一些從未考慮過的問題,就會感到興奮。Nelson說:“科學中最有趣的一句話不是‘找到了。’,而是‘那很奇怪,怎麼回事。’。”

 

艾倫研究所的執行董事Rick Horwitz表示,這種偶然的發現可以推動疾病研究的發展。他認為,如果深度學習能夠揭示單個細胞中的癌症徵兆,這會有助於研究人員改進腫瘤分類。反過來,同時,也有可能帶來癌症擴散的新假說。

 

此外,生物學其他機器學習專家已經將目光投向了其他領域,儘管卷積神經網路已經應用於影像處理。“映像很重要,但化學和分子資料也同樣重要。”

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

相關文章

Cloud Intelligence Leading the Digital Future

Alibaba Cloud ACtivate Online Conference, Nov. 20th & 21st, 2019 (UTC+08)

Register Now >

11.11 Big Sale for Cloud

Get Unbeatable Offers with up to 90% Off,Oct.24-Nov.13 (UTC+8)

Get It Now >

Alibaba Cloud Free Trial

Learn and experience the power of Alibaba Cloud with a free trial worth $300-1200 USD

Learn more >

聯繫我們

該頁面正文內容均來源於網絡整理,並不代表阿里雲官方的觀點,該頁面所提到的產品和服務也與阿里云無關,如果該頁面內容對您造成了困擾,歡迎寫郵件給我們,收到郵件我們將在5個工作日內處理。

如果您發現本社區中有涉嫌抄襲的內容,歡迎發送郵件至: info-contact@alibabacloud.com 進行舉報並提供相關證據,工作人員會在 5 個工作天內聯絡您,一經查實,本站將立刻刪除涉嫌侵權內容。

Google uses AI biomedical medical retinal fundus image to measure heart disease

Source: Internet
Author: User


For Google researchers, the eye is a sign of a person's health. Now, the tech giant is predicting people's blood pressure, age and smoking by analyzing human retinal photographs and studying them in depth. The preliminary results show that machines can predict heart disease through this information, thereby making effective preventive measures.

The study relies on convolution neural networks, a depth-learning algorithm that changes biologists ' analysis of images. Scientists are using this method to look for mutations in the genome and to predict changes in the layout of individual cells. Google's approach has been discussed in a paper published last August. It can be said that this is part of a new type of deep learning application that makes image processing easier and can even identify neglected biological phenomena.

"Previously, it was impossible to apply machine learning to some areas of biology," said Philip Nelson, director of the Google Research program at Mountain View in California. "Not only is it now, but it is even more pleasing to see what human beings have not discovered," he said. ”


Convolution neural network enables the computer to process images efficiently and comprehensively, and does not need to decompose images into multiple parts. Thanks to the progress of computing power and storage technology, this method has achieved initial success in about 2012 years. For example, Facebook uses this kind of depth learning technique to identify faces in photos.


But scientists are still trying to apply these networks to the biology sector, in part because of cultural differences between the various fields. "Let a group of intelligent biologists and a group of equally intelligent computer scientists work in the same room, they communicate in two different languages and ways of thinking," said Daphne Koller, chief computational officer at Calico, a biotech company owned by Google's parent company Alphabet. ”

Scientists must also determine what types of research can be done over the network, which must undergo a lot of image training to make predictions. When Google wanted to use in-depth learning to discover mutations in the genome, scientists had to convert the alphabet of DNA into images that the computer could recognize.


Then they trained the neural network on the DNA fragment, which was aligned with the reference genome, and its mutation was known. The end result is deepvariant (deep variation), a tool released in December that can detect small changes in DNA sequences. At least in the test, Deepvariant's performance is as good as the traditional tools.

Cell biologists from the Allen Institute in Seattle are using convolution neural networks to convert flat, gray images of cells captured under an optical microscope into 3D images, some of which are marked in color.


This eliminates the need for cell staining-a process that takes more time and more complex laboratory equipment, and can also damage cells. Last month, the team unveiled the details of an advanced technology that could use some data (such as the contours of cells) to predict more cellular morphology and location.

Anne Carpenter, director of the Harvard-MIT Institute of Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, said:


"What you see now is that machine learning can accomplish the biological tasks associated with imaging, an unprecedented shift." ”


In 2015, her interdisciplinary team began using convolution neural networks to process cell images; now, Carpenter says, the neural network is processing about 15% of its research center's image data. In her view, this approach will become the main data-processing model for its research center in the next few years.

Some people think that using convolution neural network to analyze images may inadvertently reveal some subtle biological phenomena, which may lead to some problems that have never been considered before and will be excited. "The most interesting word in science is not ' found, '" Nelson said. ' But ' that's weird, what's going on. ’。 ”

Rick Horwitz, executive director of the Allen Institute, said the accidental discovery could drive the development of disease research. He argues that deep learning can reveal signs of cancer in individual cells, which could help researchers improve the classification of tumours. Conversely, there may be new hypotheses about the spread of cancer.

In addition, other biological machine learning experts have turned their sights on other areas, although convolution neural networks have been applied to image processing. "Images are important, but chemistry and molecular data are just as important," he said. ”

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------------------------------------

Contact Us

The content source of this page is from Internet, which doesn't represent Alibaba Cloud's opinion; products and services mentioned on that page don't have any relationship with Alibaba Cloud. If the content of the page makes you feel confusing, please write us an email, we will handle the problem within 5 days after receiving your email.

If you find any instances of plagiarism from the community, please send an email to: info-contact@alibabacloud.com and provide relevant evidence. A staff member will contact you within 5 working days.

Tags Index: