Detailed Customer Survey Report on marketing methods: Inbound vs. Outbound, inboundoutbound

Source: Internet
Author: User

Detailed Customer Survey Report on marketing methods: Inbound vs. Outbound, inboundoutbound

Tiandi Zhuhai sub-Rudder: This article is from Moz and the Chinese version is compiled by Tiandi Zhuhai sub-rudder. Inbound/outbound marketing, which is not yet considered a good unified translation by tiandihui Zhuhai rudder in China. Here we reference the analysis of Baidu encyclopedia, "Inbound Marketing, also called customer marketing, it is a marketing strategy that allows customers to find their own customers. It is a kind of relationship marketing or licensed marketing. Marketers earn customers' favor with their own strength, instead of using traditional advertising methods to attract customers (outbound marketing ). "Inbound/outbound will be directly reserved as the term.

It is said that consumers have suffered an average of 5,000 advertisements every day for a long time. However, if consumers do not want to be troubled by these advertisements, they can also completely isolate them. You may wish to Google the keyword "How to shield advertisements, you will get 832,000,000 returned results.

More and more consumers block advertisements, which makes it a headache for marketers and advertisers. Recently, Adobe found that the number of people blocking ads reached 0.198 billion, which caused a great sensation. Today's ad shielding mainly happens on desktop computers, but soon mobile devices will converge. For example, the IOS 9 that Apple will release will add the advertisement blocking function in its Safari browser. Therefore, we expect a large number of netizens to shield ads on their mobile devices.

A recent Fractl & Moz survey found that 56% of respondents used AD shielding in different forms.

Obviously, we are increasingly resisting these low-value, high-noise disruptive marketing methods. So are these marketing strategies and channels still an effective part of marketing? More importantly, does it mean that consumers prefer inbound marketing?

For this reason, Fractl and Moz joined hands again to conduct relevant exclusive research, and verified the functions and efficiency of various marketing strategies.

The entire research will be divided into two parts. The first part focuses on the functions of marketing strategies, we will share the survey results that traditional and digital marketing and advertising channels are attracting user attention, driving users to take actions, and influencing consumers' purchase decisions; in the second part, we will focus on the efficiency of these different media, and look at how different effects will be achieved through different channels for marketing with an investment of $0.1 million.

Part 1: functions-Overview of available options

Before in-depth and comprehensive research results, we need to take a general look at the results of this survey:

  • Policies that are most likely to have a positive impact on users' purchase decisions: customer reviews, search results, online articles, traditional advertisements, direct mail
  • Policies that are most likely to have a negative impact on users' purchase decisions: mobile app ads, display ads, paid searches, and email marketing
  • The most effective strategy to attract businesses: Direct Mail, content marketing, and search result display
  • The most popular method of user self-education (discovery): search, view the comments of the company website and other customers
  • Digital ads that are most noticeable to users: Display ads, media ads, and mobile app ads
  • Outbound: traditional advertising, email marketing, and social media advertising

Note that the results of our survey do not include all marketing models. These results provide new insights for methods that may not be considered valid before. For example, you may not believe that direct mail is so lethal as we do. In addition, our findings may allow you to enhance existing marketing portfolios or propose new strategies for users' consumer behaviors, especially in online user mining.

 

1. I noticed that the online advertiser was public, but more than half of the respondents did not catch a cold or even shield the ads.

Most of the respondents have noticed a wide variety of online advertisements, 3/4 of which have noticed the existence of these advertisements in the last month, most people have noticed the various advertising methods we have asked.

More than half (53.8%) of respondents did not click any of these advertisements within a week.

  • Nearly 1/4 (24.4%) of people click social media ads within a week, which is more than any other online ads.
  • Surprisingly, sponsor links ranked second in clicks, reaching around 18%.
  • More than 16% of people will click display ads, which indicates that most of the respondents may have enabled ad blocking.
  • Less than 10% of users click pay-as-you-go ads.

 

2. traditional advertising, email marketing, and social media advertising are the best way to attract users in outbound marketing and payment channels.

In comparison, the following advertising methods have no special effect on attracting users' attention:

  • Paid ads are only below 10% in attracting attention
  • 16.5% of respondents thought that app ads attracted them
  • Sponsor story ads attract around 18% of respondents

 

3. More than 88% of respondents obtained more information from a company through online search, and 98% of respondents used this method in a week.

Online Search is ubiquitous in our daily lives, so it is not surprising that 88% of respondents use this method to understand a company. In addition, 85% of people visit the company's website, and 81.9% of them view feedback from other users.

Other independent education methods are much less than search methods. More than 27.5% of people will pay attention to a company's social media account for more information, and 10.7% will download relevant materials on the official website for more information.

The weekly Internet access behavior of the respondents gives us a deeper understanding of the frequency of their online retrieval information and enables the company to conduct targeted marketing.

In the last week, almost all respondents (93.2%) will search for information about a product or company:

  • 89% of people read an online soft paper
  • More than half of the people downloaded the materials from the company's website and left their own email addresses for the company.
  • Over 1/4 (28.5%) of people focused on a company on social media

It should be noted that the number of people who download the materials and the number of people who leave their email addresses is equivalent. It is estimated that these company websites need to leave an email address to download the materials.

 

4. For most respondents, comments from other users, online searches, and online articles will have a positive impact on their purchase decisions.

  • About 85% of users are positively influenced by user reviews. Among them, 45% people are very likely to purchase because they see reviews from other customers, and the other 40% is relatively low.
  • More than 3/4 (77%) of people are positively influenced by online search. Among them, 25.7% of users are very likely to purchase through online search, while the other 51.3% are relatively low.
  • More than half (56.7%) are positively influenced by online articles. 9.3% of people are more likely to buy online articles, while 47.4% are relatively low.
  • What's interesting is that email marketing has the biggest negative impact on making purchase decisions. 44% of them are very unlikely to buy products sold in E-mail marketing, and the remaining 21.4% are unlikely to make purchases.
  • Respondents tend to be neutral about a company's social media articles and press conferences, with 42.8% and 48.6% respectively not affecting their purchase decisions.

 

5. In outbound marketing strategies, traditional advertising methods have the most positive impact on consumers' purchase decisions, followed by direct mail.

  • Traditional advertisements have a positive impact on the purchase decisions of about 2/5 (42%) people. Among them, 6.2% were positively affected, while the other 35.8% was slightly smaller.
  • Direct Mail has a positive impact on the purchase decisions of more than 30% people. Among them, the positive impact of 4.2% is relatively large, while the other 27.7 is relatively small.

However, traditional advertising and direct mail (outbound), which have a positive impact on users' purchase decisions, are compared with other online searches, user reviews, and online articles (inbound, not worth mentioning:

  • The positive impact of user reviews on users' purchase decisions is twice that of traditional advertisements.
  • The positive impact of online articles on users' purchase decisions is 56 percent higher than direct mail.
  • Information obtained through online search brings a positive impression on users' purchase decisions, which is 1.8 times that of traditional advertisements.

On the other hand, some advertising methods will have a negative impact on users' purchase decisions. Compared with other methods, mobile app ads, advertising display, and paid click ads have the biggest negative impact.

  • More than half (54.3%) believe that mobile app ads will have a negative impact. 31.4% considers it to have a serious impact, while 22.9% considers it to have a certain impact.
  • Nearly half (48.1%) think it is unlikely to buy products on display ads. 25.7% of people think it is very likely, and 22.4% think it is possible.
  • Billing clicks have a negative impact on people lower than 49.4%. 25.3% people think that it is very likely that they will not purchase the product, and 24.1% think it is likely that they will not purchase the product.

 

6. Direct Mail, online content, and search are the most effective methods to attract users.

Direct Mail and content marketing are among the top, with more than half of respondents voting for these clever ways to attract them. Nearly half (48.3%) believe that the results they want can help them make purchases in a timely manner in the search results.

In addition:

  • More than 1/3 of respondents believe that traditional advertising (37.6%) and email marketing (34.6%) are very effective methods to capture their hearts.
  • More than 1/4 of respondents believe that social media articles (27.4%) and social media advertisements (24.8%) are smart ways for them to buy.
  • Only 6.6% of respondents believe that mobile app ads are an effective strategy for them to make purchases.

Although our findings show that we agree with the functions of inbound marketing (search, content) and third-party recommendations (user reviews, however, our respondents also found that several outbound marketing strategies have good results, especially traditional advertisements that attract users' attention and direct mail that affect users' willingness to purchase. But the function is only a part of the entire market equation...

Part 2: Efficiency

In addition to functions, the cost-efficiency required to achieve the desired results is also a factor you need to seriously consider in your marketing portfolio.

Cost Comparison of various marketing channels

The cost of inbound marketing is an advantage, while the cost of TV and printed media is a disadvantage. To better understand the efficiency of different channels, Let's first look at the cost of an advertisement activity that increases user perception of the product.

CPM (cose per mille, that is, the cost of thousands of impressions/impressions) is a common measure of the cost of each one thousand impressions of various advertising media. The calculation method is as follows:

CPM = (advertising investment x 1,000)/display times

The CPM ratio of an advertising media is affected by a variety of factors. Therefore, the following chart only provides descriptive information. However, the data tells us the truth in the form of price, in order to let the information to a certain number of users, we have a huge difference in the cost of spending on different advertising and marketing channels.

Direct mail cost

You may have noticed that direct mail is not listed. Because the CPM of the cheapest Direct Mail has all gone to $583, it is difficult to set the Direct Mail option in the middle (the maximum shown in the middle is $33.85 ).

 

Cost of paid search (bidding ranking)

Although paid search will also use CPM for billing, the CPC (pay by click) is more widely used, so here we will use CPC instead of CPM as the benchmark for billing of paid search.

The cost of paid search varies with vertical search, keywords, and targets. For example, you may only need a few pocket money to pay for some keywords, but some highly competitive keywords require you to pay $5 for each click. It shows the average CPC data sorted out by 2014 keywords in various vertical fields in 700,000.

Based on the above data, the lowest CPC is $0.38, and the highest is $4.41. Therefore, the balance between the two is about $2.40, and the average cost of all CPC data is $1.70.

CPC vs. CPM: both of them are typical billing methods for paid search, advertising display, and social media advertising. Which billing method should be selected based on your advertising activity purpose and budget. When brand awareness is promoted, CPM is often selected. If the goal is to obtain traffic and conversion rate, CPC will be a better choice.

What can I do with a budget of $10 thousand?

Based on the above costs, let's take a look at what you can do with a budget of $10 thousand.

Extremely high CPM: Direct Mail

With a CPM of $583, a budget of $10 thousand allows you to direct normal mail to 17,152 families. According to the direct mail Association, the average ROI of direct mail is 12-14%, so the high fees you pay in the early stage may be worth something.

High CPM: prime time TV ads

During prime time periods, TV ads charge the most for CPM in the middle, reaching $33.85 (local TV ads mean that your advertising activities are only played in the local market, instead of playing it nationwide), so with a budget of $10 thousand, you can reach 300,000 local market audiences. It doesn't sound bad-But remember, these ads only play for 30 seconds at a time, and these fees only mean the cost of playing ads. In addition, there are many other expenses that need to be considered for advertising production, including script writing, editing, commenting, actors, and so on.

Moderate CPM: magazine

The CPM of a magazine is at an intermediate price. With an average CPM of $14, the budget of $10 thousand allows you to cover 715,000 readers through a magazine. The cost varies depending on the advertisement size, color or black/white image, advertisement page location, and advertisement page location. At the same time, we should also consider the cost of writing, designing, and other advertising creations.

Low CPM: Facebook ads

Because of the $1.54 low-cost CPM, Facebook ads are the most budget-friendly. The $10 thousand budget allows you to cover 6.5 million people. This budget allows you to overwrite a large number of users at a time, or target the same part of users through multiple advertisements for a long time. It should be noted that the CPM and CPC of Facebook ads will increase with the granularity of your target users.

CPC: paid search

If your $10 thousand budget is USD 2.40 in the CPC, you will be able to get 4,167 clicks. If the CPC cost is USD 1.70, 5,882 clicks will be made. For example, if you see an advertisement instead of clicking in, if the click rate is 5%, 2.40 of the ads with a CPC price of $83,330 will be seen, 1.70 of people see ads with a CPC of $117,640.

 

Content Marketing CPM

There is no industry standard Billing Unit to measure user impressions and the cost of each click, which makes the cost estimation method of content marketing very tricky. Fortunately, we have recently provided an example of content marketing vs. TV advertising cost.

Content Marketing can achieve a rating similar to TV ads-but it only requires part of the cost of TV ads. Recently, a customer put in ads in BuzzFeed and received more than 3.2 million readings within a few days after the article was published.

According to the above analysis, if you play 30 seconds of advertising during the prime time of a local radio station, you need to pay about $75 thousand to cover users of the same size in order to achieve the same effect.

In addition, publishing content to different platforms and social sharing bring about more reading rates. This may require you to invest more than $0.2 million in TV ads, not to mention, SEO can also be used to increase the value of reading.

When $10 thousand is invested in content creation and promotion, the CPM required to get this 3.2 million reading volume is $3.13 (refer to the above CPM formula ).

 

As you can see, in the $10 thousand budget, Facebook ads can cover more users. If this budget is for highly scalable content marketing, in addition to allowing you to gain great exposure, it also brings other benefits. For example, the content of an article can exist on the Internet for a long time (unlike when Facebook ads are no longer available), the article can be published on multiple platforms, and the article will also improve the ranking as the reading volume increases, in this way, more reading volumes are obtained.

 

Key Summary

Choosing the right marketing mix depends not only on a channel and strategy, but also on the KPI you want to achieve. It also has a lot to do with your budget. Balancing functions and efficiency is crucial to creating a long-term, sustainable market strategy.

In general, the following are the key points we have found:

User attention:

  • Traditional advertisements are more efficient than digital advertisements in attracting users' attention. E-Mail Marketing and social media ads ranked second and third respectively.
  • Most respondents use search engines and/or read online content within a week, so we can effectively use this to provide relevant information to our target users in advance.
  • To learn more about a company, most respondents search, browse the company's official website, or view user reviews.
  • Displaying advertisements is the easiest way for users to notice, but it is the most difficult to impress users.

User conversion rate:

  • More than half of the users will go to the official website to download content or provide personal email information to the company within one week. This may be because they need to provide email information for download.
  • Customer reviews, searches, and online articles have a positive impact on users' purchase decisions.
  • In outbound marketing strategies, traditional advertising methods and direct mail have the most positive impact on consumers' purchase decisions.
  • Respondents voted that direct mail is the most effective way to attract them to buy
  • The respondents also thought that free content or timely display of search results were some of the most effective ways to conclude a transaction.

Cost:

  • According to our survey, content marketing, Facebook, and other social media advertisements are the most budget-friendly way to cover the majority of users.

 

Note: For more articles please follow the public account: techgogogo or personal blog http://techgogogo.com. Of course, you are also welcome to hook up directly (zhubaitian1.

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