Linux Setup System operating mode

Source: Internet
Author: User

The Linux system has 7 runlevel (runlevel):

  • RunLevel 0: System down state, system default RunLevel cannot be set to 0, otherwise it will not start normally
  • RunLevel 1: Single User working status, root privilege, for system maintenance, remote login Forbidden
  • RunLevel 2: Multi-User State (no NFS)
  • RunLevel 3: Full multiuser State (with NFS), enter console command line mode after login
  • Run Level 4: System not used, reserved
  • Run level 5:x11 console, login to GUI mode
  • RunLevel 6: The system shuts down gracefully and restarts, the default runlevel cannot be set to 6, otherwise it will not start properly

Generally more commonly used command mode, novice comparison of common graphics mode.

To set the command mode:


Modify the Id:3:initdefault: 3

Finally, restart the reboot can be;

Linux Setup System operating mode

Related Article

Contact Us

The content source of this page is from Internet, which doesn't represent Alibaba Cloud's opinion; products and services mentioned on that page don't have any relationship with Alibaba Cloud. If the content of the page makes you feel confusing, please write us an email, we will handle the problem within 5 days after receiving your email.

If you find any instances of plagiarism from the community, please send an email to: and provide relevant evidence. A staff member will contact you within 5 working days.

A Free Trial That Lets You Build Big!

Start building with 50+ products and up to 12 months usage for Elastic Compute Service

  • Sales Support

    1 on 1 presale consultation

  • After-Sales Support

    24/7 Technical Support 6 Free Tickets per Quarter Faster Response

  • Alibaba Cloud offers highly flexible support services tailored to meet your exact needs.