From: http://www.znnblog.cn/post/48.html
How to analyze website operation data?
Data Analysis for websites during website operation has become a daily task for every website planning and operation personnel, through these data indicators, we can accurately grasp user trends and the actual situation of the website. In fact, the index items used for analysis vary according to different types of websites. There are many different indicators to measure. However, every new employee is confused about how to measure the data indicators of website operations and which are the key indicators of website operations. In fact, website analysis indicators include content indicators and business indicators. content indicators refer to indicators to measure the activity of visitors, and business indicators refer to indicators to measure the activity of visitors into commercial profits. To obtain this data, we can use 51 Google analysis tools to obtain part of the information, but in order to obtain more accurate key data for some website operations, in the Website planning and Website planning stages, You need to fully consider this part of content and set some index parameters for the website, so that you can reduce repeated website development work.
I. Content indexes of website operation data analysis
Website conversion rate take rates (conversions rates)
Calculation formula: website conversion rate = traffic volume/total traffic volume of the corresponding action
Indicator significance: measure the degree of attraction of website content to visitors and the promotion effect of the website
Metric usage: When you test news subscriptions, download links, or register members in different places, you can use different link names, subscription methods, ad placement, paid search links, paid ads (PPC), and so on to see if that method can keep the conversion rate increasing? How to enhance the relevance between visitors and website content? If this value increases, the correlation is enhanced, and vice versa.
Return Visit rate repeat visitor share
Calculation formula: return visit ratio = Number of visitors/number of independent visitors
Significance: it is used to measure the attraction of website content to visitors and the practicability of the website. Whether your website has interesting content allows visitors to return to your website again.
Indicator usage: This indicator may vary greatly depending on the access duration setting and report generation time period. The vast majority of websites want visitors to visit, so they want this value to be continuously improved. If this value falls, it indicates that the quality of the website's content or products has not been enhanced. It should be noted that once you select a time period and time period, you must use the same parameters to generate your report, otherwise it will lose the meaning of comparison.
Positive visitor rate heavy user share
Formula: positive user ratio = number of users accessing more than N pages/total number of users
It indicates how many visitors are highly interested in the content of the website.
Indicator usage: The size of N is measured based on the content and size of your website. For example, content-based websites are usually defined ~ Around 15 pages. for e-commerce websites, it can be defined in 7 ~ About 10 pages. If your website targets the correct target audience and is easy to use, you can see that this indicator is constantly increasing.
Loyal visitor rate committed visitor share
Formula: Number of users/total number of users with access time greater than n minutes
Indicator meaning: it has the same meaning as the previous indicator, but uses the stay time to replace the page views. Depending on the website's goal, you can use one or both of them.
Indicator usage: N is also defined by the type and size of the website. For example, a large website is usually located in about 20 minutes. If this visitor indicator is used separately, it is difficult to reflect its utility. It should be used together with other website operation data indicators, such as conversion rate, but in general, A long access duration means that users like to stay on your website, and a high loyalty rate is certainly better. Similarly, the access duration can be set according to different needs.
Loyal visitor index committed visitor Index
Calculation formula: Loyal visitor Index = number of access pages greater than n minutes/number of visitors greater than n minutes
Indicator meaning: it refers to the average number of pages accessed by each visitor for a long time. This is an important indicator, which combines the number of pages and time.
Indicator usage: This index makes a more detailed distinction between the page and time. Maybe the visitor just leaves for dinner. If this index is low, it means that there is a long access time but a low access page. We usually want to see that this index has a high value. If you modify the website, you can add Website Functions and materials to attract more loyal visitors to stay on the website and browse the content, this index will rise.
Loyal visitor count committed visitor volume
Calculation formula: Number of loyal visitors = number of visits more than n minutes/total number of visits
It indicates the number of pages accessed by a visitor over a long period of time.
Indicator usage: websites usually attract users through publicity and promotion. The significance of this indicator is particularly important because it represents the overall quality of page access. If you have 10000 million access pages but only 1% loyal visitor rate, it means you may have attracted the wrong visitors who have no value, they just took a look at your webpage and left. This is why you should consider whether there are any problems with your promotion and promotion methods.
Visitor engagement index visitor engagement Index
Calculation formula: visitor participation index = total visitors/Independent Visitors
Indicator meaning: This indicator is the average session of each visitor, representing the trend of multiple visits of some visitors.
Indicator usage: different from the ratio of visitors, this indicator represents the intensity of visitors. If a very correct target audience keeps returning to the website, this index will be much higher than 1; if no visitor is returned, the index approaches 1, meaning that each visitor has a new session. The level of this index depends on the target of the website. Most content-oriented and commercial websites require each visitor to have multiple sessions each week/month ); however, pages or websites such as customer services, especially complaints, want this index to be as close as possible to 1.
Rebound rate (all pages) reject rate/bounce rate
Calculation formula: rebound rate (all pages) = number of records on a single page/total number of records
It indicates the ratio of only one page visible to visitors.
Indicator significance: This indicator is very important for the highest entry page, because traffic is generated from these pages, so when planning websites and websites, pay special attention to this parameter when you need to design the architecture of the website navigation or layout design. And you want this ratio to keep decreasing.
Bounce rate (homepage) reject rate/bounce rate
Calculation formula: bounce rate (homepage) = number of visits to the homepage only/number of all visits starting from the homepage
Indicator meaning: This indicator indicates the ratio of visitors who only read the homepage from the home page.
Indicator significance: This indicator is the most important of all content-based indicators. We usually think that the homepage is the highest entry page (of course, if your website has other higher entry pages, it should also be added to the tracking target, such as advertising ). For any website, we can imagine that if a visitor browses the homepage or the most common page, it indicates that there is a problem in Website planning. If the target market is correct, it means that the visitor cannot find what he wants, or there is a problem with the webpage design (including page layout, network speed, link text, etc ); if the website design is feasible and easy to use, and the content of the website can be easily found, the problem may be the quality of visitors, that is, the market problem.
View User ratio scanning visitor share
Formula: browsing user ratio = number of visitors in less than 1 minute/total number of visitors
Indicator significance: This indicator measures the degree of attraction of web pages to a certain extent.
Indicator usage: Most websites want visitors to stay for more than one minute. If the value of this indicator is too high, consider whether the webpage content is too simple, whether the navigation menu of the website needs to be improved.
View User index scanning visitor Index
Formula: browsed user Index = number of accessed pages in less than 1 minute/number of visitors in less than 1 minute
It indicates the average number of visits per minute.
Indicator usage: This index is close to 1, indicating that visitors are less interested in the website and they just leave at a glance. This may be a navigation problem. If you make significant improvements to the navigation system, you can see that the index is rising. If the index is still falling, the target market and functions of the website are problematic. By combining browser user ratio with browser user index, we can see whether users are browsing useful information or getting bored.
Scanning visitor volume
Formula: Number of browsed users = number of browsed pages less than 1 minute/total browsed pages
It indicates the ratio of the number of accessed pages completed in one minute.
Indicator usage: depending on the target of the website, this indicator has different requirements. Most websites want this indicator to be reduced. If it is an advertisement-driven website, this indicator is too high, which is not good for long-term goals, because it means that even though you attract a lot of visitors through advertising, a high number of pages of access will be generated, however, the quality of visitors is not high, and the benefits will be affected.
Ii. Commercial indicators of website Analysis
Average order amount average order amount (AoA)
Calculation formula: average order amount = total sales/total orders
Indicator significance: used to measure the quality of website sales
Indicator usage: it is of course very important to convert visitors to buyers. It is also important to encourage buyers to buy more products each time they visit. Tracking This indicator can find a better improvement method.
Order conversion rate (CR)
Formula: Order conversion rate = total order quantity/total access volume
Indicators: this is an important indicator to measure the sales situation of each visitor.
Indicator usage: You can see that even small changes can bring huge changes to the website's revenue. If you can also differentiate the orders generated by new and old visitors, you can refine this indicator and make separate statistics for new and old customers.
Sales per visitor per visit (SPV)
Calculation formula: sales per visitor = total sales/total sales
Indicator significance: This indicator is also used to measure the market efficiency of the website.
Indicator usage: This indicator is similar to the conversion rate, but in different forms.
Single Order cost per order (CPO)
Calculation formula: single order cost = total marketing expenses/total orders
Indicator significance: measure the average order cost
Indicator usage: the marketing cost of each order is critical to the profit and cash flow of the website. The Calculation of marketing costs has different standards. Some of them share the annual website operating costs with the monthly cost, while others do not. The key lies in the situation that best suits you. If the conversion rate can be increased without increasing the marketing cost, this indicator should be reduced.
Repeat order rate (ROR)
Calculation formula: reorder rate = number of existing customer orders/total number of orders
Indicator significance: used to measure the attractiveness of websites to customers
Indicator usage: the level of this indicator is closely related to the customer service. Only satisfactory user experience and services can improve this indicator.
Cost per visitor (CPV)
Calculation formula: single visitor cost = marketing cost/total number of visitors
It is used to measure the Traffic Cost of a website.
Indicator usage: This indicator measures your market efficiency and aims to reduce this indicator and increase SPV. To this end, you need to cut down ineffective marketing expenses and increase effective market investment.
Order Difference order acquisition gap (OAG)
Calculation formula: Order acquisition Difference = single visitor cost (CPV)-single order cost (CPO)
Indicator significance: This is an indicator to measure the market efficiency, representing the difference between visitors and converted visitors brought by the website.
Indicator usage: the value of the indicator should be a negative value, which is a measurement to obtain the customer's cost from non-visitors. There are two ways to reduce the difference. When you increase the sales capability of the website, CPO will decrease, and the difference will be reduced, indicating that the website's ability to convert existing traffic has been enhanced; similarly, CPV may increase while CPO remains unchanged or decreased. This difference also decreases, indicating that all traffic attracted by the website has a high conversion rate, this usually happens when PPC (pay per click) is enabled.
Order acquisition rate order acquisition ratio (oar)
Calculation formula: Order acquisition rate = single order cost (CPO)/single visitor cost (CPV)
Indicator significance: use another form to reflect market efficiency
Indicator usage: in the form of a ratio, it is often easier for the management class to understand, especially financial personnel.
Contribution per order (CON)
Calculation formula: Each output = (average order quantity X Average marginal income)-cost of each order
Indicator meaning: increase the net worth of cash that each order brings to you
Indicator usage: The company's chief financial officer is always interested in this indicator, representing how much you spent to earn.
Return on investment (ROI)
Formula: ROI = per output (CON)/per order cost (CPO)
Indicator significance: used to measure the ROI of your ads
Indicator usage: To compare the rate of return of your advertisement, you should allocate money to the advertisement with the highest rate of return. However, the rate of return should be limited by time periods, for example, there is a big difference between "25% RIO/Week" and "25% RIO/year ".