Red Hat Enterprise Linux Hardware Certification - Program Policy Guide__Linux


Red Hat Enterprise Linux Hardware Certification Program Policy Guide The Policies and Procedures of Hardware Certification

Edition 7.0-3 Rob Landry Red Hat, Inc. Engineering Services Legal Notice Copyright © 2016 Red Hat, Inc. This document is licensed by Red Hat under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. If you distribute this document, or a modified version of it, you must provide attribution to Red Hat, Inc. and provide a link to the original. If the document is modified, all Red Hat trademarks must be removed. Red Hat, as the licensor of this document, waives the right to enforce, and agrees not to assert, Section 4d of CC-BY-SA to the fullest extent permitted by applicable law. Red Hat, Red Hat Enterprise Linux, the Shadowman logo, JBoss, OpenShift, Fedora, the Infinity logo, and RHCE are trademarks of Red Hat, Inc., registered in the United States and other countries. Linux® is the registered trademark of Linus Torvalds in the United States and other countries. Java® is a registered trademark of Oracle and/or its affiliates. XFS® is a trademark of Silicon Graphics International Corp. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other countries. MySQL® is a registered trademark of MySQL AB in the United States, the European Union and other countries. Node.js® is an official trademark of Joyent. Red Hat Software Collections is not formally related to or endorsed by the official Joyent Node.js open source or commercial project. The OpenStack® Word Mark and OpenStack logo are either registered trademarks/service marks or trademarks/service marks of the OpenStack Foundation, in the United States and other countries and are used with the OpenStack Foundation's permission. We are not affiliated with, endorsed or sponsored by the OpenStack Foundation, or the OpenStack community. All other trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Abstract The Red Hat Hardware Certification Program Policy Guide covers the procedural, technical and policy requirements for achieving a Red Hat Hardware Certification. 1. Introduction 1.1. Audience 1.2. Program Overview 1.3. Certification Prerequisites 2. The Certification Process 2.1. Process Overview 2.2. The Certification Process 2.2.1. Creating Accounts 2.2.2. Creating a Certification 2.2.3. Reviewing the Test Plan 2.2.4. Testing the Hardware 2.2.5. Sample Hardware 2.2.6. GSS Support Approval 2.3. Giving Feedback and Getting Help 3. Hardware Certification Policies 3.1. Program Policies 3.1.1. Policy Changes 3.1.2. Red Hat Enterprise Linux 3.1.3. Red Hat Enterprise Linux OpenStack Compute (optional) 3.1.4. Red Hat Enterprise MRG for Realtime (RHEL6) and Red Hat Enterprise Linux for Real Time (RHEL7) 3.1.5. Red Hat Gluster Storage for On-Premise 3.1.6. Certification Life-cycle 3.1.7. Submission Window 3.1.8. Original Certifications 3.1.9. Unpublished Certifications 3.1.10. Component Leveraging 3.1.11. Component Leverage Pools 3.1.12. System Pass-Through Certifications 3.1.13. Component Pass-Through Certifications 3.1.14. Re-Certification 3.1.15. Known Issues 3.2. Software Policies 3.2.1. Test Suite Versions 3.2.2. Red Hat Enterprise Linux Versions 3.2.3. Red Hat Enterprise MRG Realtime and Red Hat Enterprise Linux for Real Time Versions 3.2.4. Unmodified Red Hat Enterprise Linux 3.2.5. Kernel Boot Parameters 3.2.6. Drivers 3.2.7. SELinux (Red Hat Enterprise Linux 6 and 7) 3.2.8. Red Hat Enterprise Linux as a Host 3.2.9. Red Hat Enterprise Linux as a Guest (Special Partnerships only) 3.3. BIOS/Firmware Policies 3.3.1. Production Level 3.3.2. Changes 3.3.3. Settings 3.3.4. OS Loaded 3.4. Hardware Policies 3.4.1. Stand-Alone 3.4.2. Components and Peripherals 3.4.3. Production Level 3.4.4. Changes 3.4.5. Configuration Limits 3.4.6. Performance Minimums 4. Creating the Test Plan 4.1. Test Plan Overview 4.2. Models 4.3. Options 4.4. Non-OS Features and Unintentional Features 4.5. Minimum Test Set 4.6. Installation, Boot, and Kdump Requirements 4.7. Hardware Class Requirements 4.8. Additional Manual Testing 4.8.1. External Storage and Multipath HBAs Chapter 1. Introduction 1.1. Audience 1.2. Program Overview 1.3. Certification Prerequisites This guide explains the certification process, the policies pertaining to hardware certification, and the process followed by the Red Hat Hardware Certification Team to create hardware test plans. 1.1. Audience The Red Hat Hardware Certification Policy Guide is intended for hardware vendors interested in certifying hardware with Red Hat. A strong working knowledge of Red Hat Enterprise Linux is required. A Red Hat Certified Engineer accreditation is preferred and suggested before participating. 1.2. Program Overview The Red Hat Hardware Certification Program provides a formal means for you to work with Red Hat to establish official support for your hardware. Certified hardware is supported by Red Hat's Global Support Services (GSS) and is published in the Red Hat Certification Catalog. The certification process is described in Chapter 2, The Certification Process. During the certification process Red Hat engineers create a test plan that defines the hardware criteria required to achieve certification. Red Hat engineers follow the process described in Chapter 4, Creating the Test Plan to create a test plan suitable for your hardware specifications. 1.3. Certification Prerequisites To ensure you are eligible to join the Hardware Certification Program, a summary of the most important polices is listed below. Chapter 3, Hardware Certification Policies describes each of the hardware certification policies in detail. Red Hat certifies hardware models and not specific configurations of a model. All optional hardware configurations designated as part of the same model must be tested. Testing must be performed with a standard installation of Red Hat Enterprise Linux without special configuration or additional software, including drivers which are not provided by Red Hat. Certifications are currently available for: Red Hat Enterprise Linux  6 and 7. Also, optionally for: Red Hat Enterprise Linux OpenStack Compute 8 and 9 Red Hat Enterprise MRG Realtime 2 Red Hat Enterprise Linux for Real Time 7 Chapter 2. The Certification Process 2.1. Process Overview


Beyond APAC's No.1 Cloud

19.6% IaaS Market Share in Asia Pacific - Gartner IT Service report, 2018

Learn more >

Apsara Conference 2019

The Rise of Data Intelligence, September 25th - 27th, Hangzhou, China

Learn more >

Alibaba Cloud Free Trial

Learn and experience the power of Alibaba Cloud with a free trial worth $300-1200 USD

Learn more >



如果您發現本社區中有涉嫌抄襲的內容,歡迎發送郵件至: 進行舉報並提供相關證據,工作人員會在 5 個工作天內聯絡您,一經查實,本站將立刻刪除涉嫌侵權內容。