UglifyJS有個超贊的JavaScript解析器

來源:互聯網
上載者:User

我一直在為Jscex尋找好用的JavaScript解析器,之前我用的是Narcissus,也寫過相關文章。不過可惜的是,Narcissus使用了SpiderMonkey的擴充,因此它並不是用ECMAScript 3實現的,無法在IE 8等瀏覽器中使用。目前Jscex使用的是NarrativeJS中舊版的Narcissus,但是我並不喜歡它輸出的AST結構,使用中也發現進階功能裡的一些bug,有些食之無味棄之可惜的感覺,而改寫新版Narcissus又必須大動幹戈。最近我接觸到了UglifyJS,發現它的解析器相當不錯,效能也比Narcissus高出許多,在此介紹給大家。

UglifyJS是個JavaScript壓縮器,效果和Google Closure Compiler相比有過之而無不及。對於現代化的JavaScript壓縮器來說,簡單的去除空白和壓縮局部變數是遠遠不夠的,同時需要理解代碼的語義,將其替換成提及更小的形式(Uglify的說明頁上有許多描述)。這顯然需要一個JavaScript解析器。UglifyJS基於NodeJS開發,不過可以在各種支援CommonJS模組系統的JavaScript引擎/平台上運行。如果沒有CommonJS,也只需將exports相關的代碼去掉即可。

JavaScript解析器的作用自然是將JavaScript代碼分解成AST,然後根據AST便可以做到許多有趣的事情。相同的AST可以在記憶體中有不同的表現形式,例如之前提到我不太喜歡Jscex目前使用的舊版Narcissus,一個重要的原因便是它的AST結構不夠友好(最新的Narcissus倒不錯)。此外,雖然它提供了一些進階功能,例如標註了每個元素在原始碼中的位置,這樣使用者就可以直接根據getSource方法獲得它對應的原始碼——只可惜經實驗這個功能有bug,這迫使我還得遍曆完整的AST。

UglifyJS的JavaScript分詞器和解析器存放在原始碼的parse-js.js檔案中,移植於parse-js項目,後者是一個用Common Lisp實現的類庫。現在您應該可以猜到它輸出的AST是什麼表現形式了吧。沒錯,就是個“表”,用JavaScript來表示,就是個數組套數組。我寫了點簡單的代碼對其進行格式化輸出,您可以在這裡簡單嘗試一下UglifyJS的解析器。這個輸出雖然簡單,但對於Jscex來說也已經完全夠用了。

使用

開啟parse-js.js檔案,您會看到這樣一些代碼:

 
  1. /* -----[ Tokenizer (constants) ]----- */ 
  2.  
  3. var KEYWORDS = array_to_hash([  
  4.     ...  
  5. ]);  
  6.  
  7. var RESERVED_WORDS = array_to_hash([  
  8.     ...  
  9. ]);  
  10.  
  11. ...  
  12.  
  13. function parse($TEXT, exigent_mode, embed_tokens) {  
  14.     ...  
  15. }  
  16.  
  17. /* -----[ Exports ]----- */ 
  18.  
  19. exports.tokenizer = tokenizer;  
  20. exports.parse = parse;  
  21. exports.slice = slice;  
  22. exports.curry = curry;  
  23. exports.member = member;  
  24. exports.array_to_hash = array_to_hash;  
  25. exports.PRECEDENCE = PRECEDENCE;  
  26. exports.KEYWORDS_ATOM = KEYWORDS_ATOM;  
  27. exports.RESERVED_WORDS = RESERVED_WORDS;  
  28. exports.KEYWORDS = KEYWORDS;  
  29. exports.ATOMIC_START_TOKEN = ATOMIC_START_TOKEN;  
  30. exports.OPERATORS = OPERATORS;  
  31. exports.is_alphanumeric_char = is_alphanumeric_char;  
  32. exports.set_logger = function(logger) {  
  33.         warn = logger;  
  34. }; 

UglifyJS是基於CommonJS模組機制編寫的,這一個檔案其實就是個模組,它對外的方法通過exports暴露出來。如果我們將其作為普通的JavaScript檔案引入到瀏覽器中,顯然會報“export未定義”異常。理論上說,如果定義一個exports對象,甚至去除和exports有關的代碼就能正常使用parse方法了。不過這麼做也有個嚴重的問題,那就是對根對象的“汙染”實在是太嚴重了,例如在瀏覽器中所有的函數,定義都出現在window上,再引入一些其他類庫,造成衝突的可能性相當高。

因此,我們必須對代碼進行一些修改。幸運的是,在JavaScript中解決這類“範圍”問題十分容易,例如我這樣將parse-js.js的程式碼封裝圍了起來:

 
  1. var UglifyJS = {};  
  2.  
  3. (function (exports) {  
  4.  
  5. /* original code here */ 
  6.  
  7. })(UglifyJS); 

這樣就解決了範圍問題,如今我們就能訪問UglifyJS對象上的KEYWORDS集合以及parse等成員了。

效能

然後再說說效能。JavaScript一直被認為是一門執行效率低下的語言——這其實是個錯誤的觀點。其實從語言設計上說,JavaScript比Python和Ruby都要快,只不過由於曆史原因各大瀏覽器對它都不太重視而已。不過如今情況早就有所改變,在V8的帶領下,現代的JavaScript引擎執行速度都已經超過了目前最快的Python和Ruby實現。話不多說,現在我們就來比較一下UglifyJS的解析器與Narcissus在各瀏覽器下的表現吧。

測試頁面在此(http://files.zhaojie.me/demos/js-parsers/benchmark.html),您也可以自行嘗試,測試情境是使用兩者分別解析十次Narcissus的實現——大約1500行未壓縮的JavaScript代碼(值得一提的是,我試了許多壓縮後的代碼,如jquery-min.js,它們用UgilifyJS可以正常解析,而Narcissus卻解析失敗)。我使用兩台公司配置的標準工作機,測試了IE、Chrome和Firefox各兩個版本共6種瀏覽器。每個瀏覽器我都會運行多遍測試,去處偏差大的結果,取中遊數值。遺憾的是,由於條件所限,兩台機器的作業系統有所不同,雖然我認為並不會對結果有什麼影響,但如果您足夠頂真,也不妨再自行評測一把。

首先我在Win 7下測試了Chrome 10、FireFox 3和IE9,結果如下:

對於UglifyJS來說,Chrome 10的表現最好,IE 9相比略慢少許,而Firefox 3耗時則是前兩者的數倍。對於Narcissus來說,則是IE 9表現最好,僅為Chrome 10的五分之一,和Firefox 3相比更是數量級上的領先。有趣的是,Chrome 10和Firefox 3下兩個解析器的耗時都是一比十左右,而IE 9下則相差無幾。

然後是Win XP下Chromium 12、Firefox 4及IE 8,結果如下:

對於UglifyJS來說,Chromium 12的表現依舊搶眼,勝過Firefox 4不少,不過使用Narcissus的情況則正好相反。同樣可以看出,IE 8在JavaScript引擎的效能方面已經落後於這個時代了,不過它和IE 9、Firefox 4(以及後文的Safari)的情況類似,即UglifyJS和Narcissus的耗時並沒有太大差別。

為了便於觀察,我將兩次測試的結果放在一起(除了非正式版本的Chromium 12):

總體而言,Chrome 10、IE 9和Firefox 4為第一軍團。IE 9在UglifyJS上小負於Chrome 10,但在Narcissus上優勢明顯;Chrome 10在UglifyJS上表現最佳,但在Narcissus卻落後較多;Firefox 4雖然都不是“最佳”,但差距也並不太大。至於IE 8和Firefox 3,在JavaScript的執行效率方面的確已經落後於這個時代了。必須承認,如今的瀏覽器大戰的確大大提高了各方的品質。

此外我還測試了公司iMac上的Chrome 10、Firefox 3以及Safari 5,在此列出結果:

雖然瀏覽器的表現各有高低,差距也有所不同,但可以確定的是,UglifyJS解析器的效能的確比Narcissus要高。因此,我打算在接下來幾天裡用UglifyJS替換掉目前Jscex裡使用的Narcissus。

總結

由於前端開發和JavaScirpt的流行,越來越多的人開始用JavaScript做一些有趣的事情。我很不喜歡如今許多所謂的前端實踐,糾纏於大量的hack以及各種瀏覽器的表現,甚至是JavaScript裡某種特定寫法的效能更高——例如,居然有訊息稱,對於字串串連操作來說,a += b的效能比a = a + b要高(或反之)。在我看來這些東西是最無用的,知道了又如何?隨著瀏覽器更新換代,這些“經驗”瞬間就毫無作用了。

這也是我為什麼喜歡玩JavaScript,卻死也不願去做前端開發,尤其是HTML、CSS。同樣,如IE 6這種瀏覽器在我眼中也是必須消滅的東西。
 

原文連結:http://blog.zhaojie.me/2011/04/uglifyjs-has-a-good-javascript-parser.html

【編輯精選】

  1. 對JavaScript中call和apply的理解
  2. 16款最流行的JavaScript架構
  3. 8個令人驚歎的JavaScript效果的網站
  4. JavaScript學習筆記 有問有答
  5. JavaScript代碼最佳化新工具UglifyJS
【責任編輯:陳貽新 TEL:(010)68476606】


相關文章

Beyond APAC's No.1 Cloud

19.6% IaaS Market Share in Asia Pacific - Gartner IT Service report, 2018

Learn more >

Apsara Conference 2019

The Rise of Data Intelligence, September 25th - 27th, Hangzhou, China

Learn more >

Alibaba Cloud Free Trial

Learn and experience the power of Alibaba Cloud with a free trial worth $300-1200 USD

Learn more >

聯繫我們

該頁面正文內容均來源於網絡整理,並不代表阿里雲官方的觀點,該頁面所提到的產品和服務也與阿里云無關,如果該頁面內容對您造成了困擾,歡迎寫郵件給我們,收到郵件我們將在5個工作日內處理。

如果您發現本社區中有涉嫌抄襲的內容,歡迎發送郵件至: info-contact@alibabacloud.com 進行舉報並提供相關證據,工作人員會在 5 個工作天內聯絡您,一經查實,本站將立刻刪除涉嫌侵權內容。

Uglifyjs has a fantastic JavaScript parser.

Source: Internet
Author: User
Tags object version

I've been looking for a good JavaScript parser for Jscex, before I used Narcissus, and I wrote related articles. Unfortunately, Narcissus uses SpiderMonkey extensions, so it is not implemented with ECMAScript 3 and cannot be used in browsers such as IE 8. At present, Jscex is using the Narrativejs in the old version of the Narcissus, but I do not like its output of the AST structure, use also found in the advanced features of some bugs, some food tasteless discard feeling, and rewrite the new Narcissus must be a battle. Recently I contacted the UGLIFYJS, found that its parser is quite good, performance is much higher than Narcissus, here to introduce to you.

Uglifyjs is a JavaScript compressor, and the effect is more than Google Closure compiler. for modern JavaScript compressors, it is not enough to simply remove whitespace and compress local variables, but also to understand the semantics of the code and replace it with a reference to a smaller form (there are many descriptions on the Uglify page). This obviously requires a JavaScript parser. UGLIFYJS is based on Nodejs development, but can be run on a variety of JavaScript engines/platforms that support COMMONJS module systems. If there is no commonjs, you can simply remove the exports-related code.

the JavaScript parser's role is to decompose JavaScript code into an AST, and then do a lot of interesting things according to the AST. the same AST can have different representations in memory, such as the previous mention that I do not like the old version of Narcissus that Jscex is currently using, an important reason is that its AST structure is not friendly (the latest Narcissus is good). In addition, although it provides some advanced features, such as marking the location of each element in the source code, so that the user can get the source of the code directly based on the GetSource method--Unfortunately, the test feature has bugs, which forces me to traverse the full AST.

The UGLIFYJS JavaScript word breaker and parser are stored in the source code parse-js.js file, transplanted to the PARSE-JS project, which is a class library implemented with Common Lisp. Now you should be able to guess what its output AST is. Yes, it's a "table", which is represented by JavaScript, which is the array of arrays. I wrote some simple code to format the output, so you can simply try the UGLIFYJS parser here. This output is simple, but it is already fully enough for Jscex.

Use

Open the Parse-js.js file, and you'll see some code like this:

 
 
  1. /*-----[Tokenizer (constants)]-----* *
  2. var KEYWORDS = Array_to_hash ([
  3. ...
  4. ]);
  5. var reserved_words = Array_to_hash ([
  6. ...
  7. ]);
  8. ...
  9. Function Parse ($TEXT, Exigent_mode, Embed_tokens) {
  10. ...
  11. }
  12. /*-----[EXPORTS]-----* *
  13. Exports.tokenizer = Tokenizer;
  14. Exports.parse = parse;
  15. Exports.slice = slice;
  16. Exports.curry = Curry;
  17. Exports.member = member;
  18. Exports.array_to_hash = Array_to_hash;
  19. Exports. precedence = precedence;
  20. Exports. Keywords_atom = Keywords_atom;
  21. Exports. Reserved_words = Reserved_words;
  22. Exports. KEYWORDS = KEYWORDS;
  23. Exports. Atomic_start_token = Atomic_start_token;
  24. Exports. OPERATORS = OPERATORS;
  25. Exports.is_alphanumeric_char = Is_alphanumeric_char;
  26. Exports.set_logger = function (logger) {
  27. warn = logger;
  28. };

UGLIFYJS is based on the COMMONJS module mechanism, this file is actually a module, its external methods through the exports exposed. If we introduce it as an ordinary JavaScript file into the browser, it is clear that the "export undefined" exception is reported. Theoretically, if you define a exports object, you can use the parse method normally even if you remove the code associated with exports. But there is also a serious problem, that is, the root object of the "pollution" is too serious, for example, in the browser all functions, definitions appear on the window, and then introduce some other class libraries, resulting in a very high likelihood of conflict.

Therefore, we must make some modifications to the code. Fortunately, it's easy to solve such "scope" problems in JavaScript, such as I've surrounded the parse-js.js code:

 
  
  
  1. var uglifyjs = {};
  2. (function (Exports) {
  3. /* Original code here * *
  4. }) (UGLIFYJS);

This solves the scope problem, and now we can access the Keywords collection on the Uglifyjs object and members of the parse.

Performance

And then again, performance. JavaScript has long been considered an inefficient language-a false point of view. In fact, JavaScript is faster than Python and Ruby in terms of language design, but because of historical reasons, the big browsers don't pay much attention to it. But now things have changed, and with V8 's lead, modern JavaScript engines perform faster than the current Python and Ruby implementations. Don't say much, now we will compare the UGLIFYJS parser and Narcissus in each browser performance bar.

The test page is here (http://files.zhaojie.me/demos/js-parsers/benchmark.html) and you can try it yourself, and the test scenario is to use both to parse 10 Narcissus implementations-- About 1500 lines of uncompressed JavaScript code (it is worth mentioning, I tried a lot of compressed code, such as Jquery-min.js, they use UGILIFYJS can parse normally, but Narcissus parse failed). I used two company-configured standard machines and tested two versions of IE, Chrome, and Firefox for a total of 6 browsers. Every browser I will run many times the test, where the result of large deviation, take the middle value. Unfortunately, due to the conditions, the operating system of the two machines is different, although I do not think it will have any effect on the results, but if you are good enough, you may wish to evaluate one.

First I tested the chrome 10, FireFox 3 and IE9 under Win 7, and the results were as follows:

For UGLIFYJS, Chrome 10 has the best performance, IE 9 is a little slower, and Firefox 3 takes several times more than the previous two. For Narcissus, it is IE 9 best performance, only for Chrome 10 one-fifth, and Firefox 3 compared to the order of magnitude of the lead. Interestingly, Chrome 10 and Firefox 3 have two parsers that take about 1:10, compared with IE 9.

Then the win XP under Chromium 12, Firefox 4 and IE 8, the results are as follows:

For UGLIFYJS, Chromium 12 performance is still eye-catching, more than Firefox 4, but the use of Narcissus is just the opposite. As you can see, ie 8 has lagged behind this age in terms of the performance of JavaScript engines, but it is similar to IE 9, Firefox 4 (and later Safari), where the UGLIFYJS and Narcissus are not very different.

For ease of observation, I put the results of two Tests together (except for the unofficial version of chromium 12):

Overall, Chrome 10, IE 9 and Firefox 4 are the first legion. IE 9 is UGLIFYJS on Chrome 10, but has obvious advantages in Narcissus. Chrome 10 is the best in uglifyjs, but it lags behind in Narcissus; Firefox 4 is not "best", but the gap is not too big. As for IE 8 and Firefox 3, it is true that JavaScript is lagging behind in its execution efficiency. It must be admitted that today's browser wars have indeed greatly improved the quality of the parties.

In addition, I tested Chrome 10, Firefox 3, and Safari 5 on the company's imac, listing the results:

Although the browser performance is high and low, the gap is also different, but it can be determined that the performance of the UGLIFYJS parser is indeed higher than the Narcissus. Therefore, I intend to replace the Narcissus in the current Jscex with UGLIFYJS in the next few days.

Summarize

As front-end development and javascirpt are popular, more and more people are starting to do interesting things with JavaScript. I don't like the many so-called front-end practices today, entangled in a lot of hack and the performance of a variety of browsers, and even a particular way of writing in JavaScript--for example, there is a message that, for string concatenation operations, the performance of A + B is higher (or vice versa) than A = a + B. In my opinion, these things are the most useless, know how? As browsers upgrade, these "experience" moments are useless.

This is why I like to play JavaScript, but die also do not want to do front-end development, especially HTML, CSS. Likewise, such browsers as IE 6 are something that must be eliminated in my eyes.

Original link: http://blog.zhaojie.me/2011/04/uglifyjs-has-a-good-javascript-parser.html

"Edit Recommendation"

    1. Understanding of call and apply in JavaScript
    2. 16 Most popular JavaScript frameworks
    3. 8 Web sites for stunning JavaScript effects
    4. JavaScript Learning notes have questions and answers
    5. JavaScript code optimization new tool UGLIFYJS
"Responsible editor: Chen Yu new TEL: (010) 68476606"


Related Article

Cloud Intelligence Leading the Digital Future

Alibaba Cloud ACtivate Online Conference, Nov. 20th & 21st, 2019 (UTC+08)

Register Now >

Starter Package

SSD Cloud server and data transfer for only $2.50 a month

Get Started >

Alibaba Cloud Free Trial

Learn and experience the power of Alibaba Cloud with a free trial worth $300-1200 USD

Learn more >

Contact Us

The content source of this page is from Internet, which doesn't represent Alibaba Cloud's opinion; products and services mentioned on that page don't have any relationship with Alibaba Cloud. If the content of the page makes you feel confusing, please write us an email, we will handle the problem within 5 days after receiving your email.

If you find any instances of plagiarism from the community, please send an email to: info-contact@alibabacloud.com and provide relevant evidence. A staff member will contact you within 5 working days.