What is the value of evaluating SEO? Ranking or return on investment?

Source: Internet
Author: User

Most people's expectations for Search engine optimization (SEO) are not set reasonably. When I talk about the future, I think of this, someone asked me what he should expect from the SEO investment in how much return.

"I'm looking for exponential growth, like, and getting 20 times times more traffic than it is now," he told me. "If we can get a stable first ranking for a keyword, that's enough for us to do that, don't you think?"

 One is not enough to rank first

Your goal is not to just make a keyword rank first. That's not a worthwhile goal.

What will happen if your keywords rank first? Such things can happen, such as Google algorithm adjustment so that you have lost a ranking of your keywords. So what happens next?

Although everyone will be salivating for a certain keyword, a stable, persistent keyword that exists in search engines is often the most stable and balanced of your many keywords.

"Goal" should be a growing flow at the end of the day--Your performance growth (more links, more sales and greater ROI).

 SEO for paid search

Many people find it easy to make a budget for paid searches. The premise is that paid search is easier to understand.

Spend 1 dollars to click.

Set a 10000-dollar budget.

Make me want to rank the keyword has 10,000 clicks.

But if you spend 10000 of dollars on SEO instead of PPC ads, but also get 20,000 clicks, what happens? Wouldn't that be a better deal?

For the sake of fairness, the above example simply wants to show his point of view. A 20000 click may represent 10% of the "merchandise" of the increase in traffic. Explain that traffic can be turned into an opportunity or sales, or just to show some Web site performance and user experience improvements.

After saying those words, he paused. "I really never thought of that way. ”

SEO ROI: no guarantee?

Don't misunderstand what I mean. I understand that SEO and PPC are very different.

SEO is not guaranteed. For whatever reason, you can foresee exactly how much the SEO investment will yield. Some of the reasons may include:

You hired the wrong people into the SEO company.

It is difficult for your IT team to address the issues that are necessary to influence rankings and traffic.

You can't/won't create content that is good for rankings or traffic.

Expectations are derailed with reality.

The target keyword you are interested in does not have search traffic--ranking number one is not equal to return on investment.

SEO can be high risk, high return. When I say "high risk", I am not talking about the high risk that is likely to be banned by search engines/penalties such as hackers, hidden, spam, etc.

My point of view is that even if you follow the search engine guide to work, there is no guarantee that everything is as you wish, because we do not have a search engine. A search engine is a third party that we cannot control.

the return on the product that SEO brings

If you spend 10000 dollars a month on SEO (including personnel costs and agency fees), you must identify a good ROI.

You may have noticed that the cost per click of your target keyword is getting higher in paid search. Then he will give you a challenge to spend on this project is not worth the money.

Let's take an example of a gadget that sells $100 worth, and your net profit is 30% ($ 30). If your average per click fee is 1 dollars, then your sales conversion rate will be 1%, this is 100 dollars in exchange for 100 click Pay Search to get 100 dollars in sales, you earn 30 dollars.

Unless you care about the value of the brand (and I think people should think about it at least, especially when they're looking at the value of PPC and SEO), it doesn't have a good ROI.

What do you need to pay for your investment? Let's do a math problem: every 100 for visitors, we get 1% of the sales transformation, then we earn 30 dollars. We need 3,000 visitors to get a 30 ratio deal. These 30 sales are 3000 US dollars ($ 100/each) and we will make a net profit of 30% (900 dollars). Because we will need about 10 times times the cost to do this job, we will need 10 times times more visitors (30000).

Suppose we need 6,000 visitors? We are willing to take the risk of losing money to do this (during the first months of research) in the hope that we will be able to feel our ROI in the next few months?

Once you've learned how SEO controls the rate of return, you can start talking about how much value and opportunity, and what the risks and benefits are.

The source of the article for http://www.leadseo.cn/seofuwu/Shanghai, the website optimization experts, reprint please keep the source! Thank you very much!



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